Renaissance Song for Winds

I’m excited to present another original composition this week: Renaissance Song for Winds. I wrote this piece shortly after the premiere of my first chamber work, Nebulae, in Feb. 2017.

Renaissance Song opens with a solo English Horn playing the main theme: a rising minor scale that slowly gets a treatment in counterpoint (giving it the “Renaissance” vibe). The purpose of the first minute is to introduce the ideas that will be played out during the piece, and that’s why the piece abruptly changes at the start of the next section.

The section that runs from 1:00-3:55 is a static world based on the exploration of the main theme and its supporting harmonies. I had the idea one night as I was laying in bed falling asleep; the piano/vibes/marimba part swirled through my brain and I knew I had to write it. The main scale theme is expanded and re-examined all throughout this section – it gets augmented (the rhythm is stretched out), shifted to new keys, inverted, flipped around, overlapped, and more. Each instrument has a specific role here accenting the main theme or the accompaniment, and maybe one day I’ll expand this idea further in a new piece because I really love it!

The next section goes back to the counterpoint introduced in the beginning, but this time it’s developed (our scale theme is poked and prodded some more here) until a climax reminiscent of our “static world” from earlier fizzles the music into nothing. (I just want to point out that at the end, starting from 6:05 on, the scale is played backwards a few times to finish out the piece. And the English Horn is the last instrument to play.)

I’m so grateful that I get to share music with you. Stay tuned for more music, analysis, and original compositions. 🙂

One thought on “Renaissance Song for Winds

Leave a Reply

